Ramen Delight in New York City

I don’t know what it is but I’m definitely hooked on Ramen.  It could be the freshness of the ingredients, the perfect combination of pork (such a weakness), noodles and broth, or simply the whole experience of sitting right in front of the chef and following step-by-step the hypnotizing process of preparation.  Whatever it is, I’ve decided to go on a quest and try out the different varieties and styles of Ramen that I can find, be it here in Toronto, New York, Tokyo, or anywhere my travels may take me.

I recently got the chance to try out Totto Ramen;  a highly reviewed and visited Ramen Shop in Midtown Manhattan (366 W 52nd Street, NY).  Although I have never been to Japan, this is very close to what I imagine of a dining experience there.  A rustic small shop, with a lively atmosphere, sitting at the counter watching the chef (of course wearing a head scarve) tossing up noodles and stirring up the broth as if that was all he was meant to do in life. And of course…delicious food.  I highly recommend the Chicken Paitan Ramen: straight homemade noodles cooked al dente style in a whole chicken and premium soy sauce based soup topped with scallion, onion, char siu pork, and a nori.  For US$11, this is a very accessible delicacy that your taste buds will thank you for.  If you can overcome the long waiting time at the door (no reservations), then you are in for a treat.  Check out the menu (http://tottoramen.com/?page_id=50) for  more delicious treats available at Totto Ramen.

If you are visiting the Big Apple please follow my advise and go to Totto Ramen.  You will not be disappointed !

ITADAKIMASU!

3 thoughts on “Ramen Delight in New York City”

    1. I’m glad you enjoy it a long with your cup of coffee. Soon I will be living in Japan and there will be a lot more content from there. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a comment